Home »

wachau GOURMETfestival: Enjoy the Wachau!

The 8th edition of the most successful wachau GOURMETfestival will be another culinary milestone. April 9th until 23th 2015.

Over the last six years, wachau GOURMETfestival has been established as one of the most important international culinary art festivals. It is mentioned in one breath with festivals in St. Moritz or Rheingau and other benchmarks and has long outrun numerous traditional and well-established festivals.

On the one hand, this is due to the special structure of the wachau GOURMETfestival. Regionally rooted top restaurants serve as venues, and the festival’s broad alignment with culinary offers for novice gourmets up to high-end events in the „Champions League“. On the other hand, success is based on the dedication of international top-chefs, who helped to shape and carry the positioning of the wachau GOURMETfestival beyond Austrian borders.

wein.genuss.krems, the top wine tasting event which unites over 60 of the best winegrowers of Lower Austria every year, is another distinctive highlight of the wachau GOURMETfestival.

This leads to an enormous benefit for tourism, given that the amount of festival visitors that attend more than one event and stay overnight in the Wachau, is increasing constantly. The backbone of the festival is formed by the network of the gourmet region Wachau with its large number of high class restaurants, its reputation as one the world's very best white wine regions (Wachau – at the intersection Krems extended to Kremstal, Kamptal and Traisental), and an aspiring tourism infrastructure.
The festival is carried by the individual venues. wachau GOURMETfestival builds the head organisation and is embedded in the communication agency LWmedia, the same company that also publishes famous wine magazine VINARIA. Donau Niederösterreich Tourismus GmbH is the closest cooperation partner and responsible for tourism offers and hotel bookings.

Attractive accommodation packages (see www.donau.com) and numerous festival specials are addressed to visitors who want to attend several events. A very special part and the heart of the festival takes place at stunning Dominikanerkirche in Krems: outstanding wine tasting event „wein.genuss.krems“ with more than 60 most renowned winegrowers from Lower Austria.

Enjoy your enjoyment!

Mag. Bernhard Schröder, Erwin Goldfuss

Startseite »

Genießen Sie die Wachau!

Die achte Auflage des erfolgreichen wachau GOURMETfestival wird zum kulinarischen Meilenstein: Von 9. bis 23. April 2015

Das wachau GOURMETfestival hat sich in den vergangenen acht Jahren international im Reigen der großen Genussfestivals etabliert. Anfangs ambitioniert in der Region verankert, wird das wachau GOURMETfestival heute längst in einem Atemzug mit den Festivals in St. Moritz, im Rheingau und mit anderen Benchmarks genannt. Längst wurden viele traditionelle und arrivierte Festivals überholt.

Das liegt zum einen an der besonderen Struktur des wachau GOURMETfestivals mit den zahlreichen, in der Region bestens verankerten Topbetrieben als Locations und der breiten Ausrichtung des Festivals mit Gourmetangeboten für Einsteiger bis hin zu High-end-Events in der „Königsklasse“. Zum anderen begründet sich der Erfolg auf das Engagement internationaler Top-Küchenchefs, die die Positionierung des wachau GOURMETfestivals über Österreichs Grenzen hinaus prägen und tragen.

Die Spitzenmesse WEIN & GENUSS Krems, die alljährlich über 60 der absolut besten Winzer Niederösterreichs aus allen Weinbauregionen vereint, ist ein weiteres, unverwechselbares Highlight des wachau GOURMETfestivals.
Damit wird hoher touristischer Nutzen generiert, zumal die Zahl der Festivalbesucher, die mehr als eine Veranstaltung buchen und in der Wachau nächtigen, laufend steigt. Die Vernetzung der mit Spitzenlokalen dichtbesetzten Gourmetregion Wachau mit einer der weltbesten Weißweinregionen (die Wachau – am Schnittpunkt Krems ergänzt um Kremstal, Kamptal und Traisental) mit einer aufblühenden touristischen Infrastruktur bildet das Rückgrat des Festivals. Die Tourismusregion Wachau beginnt im Westen in Maria Taferl und spannt sich im Osten bis Senftenberg.


Träger des Festivals sind die einzelnen Betriebe, in denen die Events stattfinden. Das wachau GOURMETfestival-Board bildet die Dachorganisation und ist im Kommunikationsunternehmen LWmedia eingebettet, in dem auch die Weinzeitschrift VINARIA erscheint. Die Donau Niederösterreich Tourismus GmbH ist engster Kooperationspartner und Träger des touristischen Angebots sowie Anlaufstelle für Hotelbuchungen.



Viel Spaß beim Genießen!